Duhok Governorate

Duhok Governorate

Duhok is a governorate in the autonomous region of Iraqi Kurdistan. Its capital is the city of Duhok. It includes Zakho, the city that meets Ibrahim Khalil border between Turkey and Iraq. It borders the Al-Hasakah Governorate of Syria. Before 1976, it was part of Nineveh Governorate, which was called Mosul Governorate. Duhok Governorate is mainly inhabited by Kurds and Assyrians, with a small number of Yazidis and Armenians. The estimated population in 2018 was 1,292,535.
For more information :

Governor of Duhok


Ali Tatar Tawfiq Nerway

    Ali Tatar was born on 15 Oct, 1968 in Nerwa-Rekkan subdistrict of Amedi District. He has been displaced with his family to Iran during Kurdish struggle and fighting for their rights in 1975 till they return back to Kurdistan in 1992. He graduated from university of Duhok in 2000 with a Bachelors’ degree in college of Arts – History department. He obtained a master’s degree majoring new and contemporary history in 2002. After Six years later, in 2008, he completed his PhD in new and contemporary history. Then, in 2012 he become assistant prof in University of Duhok, to become a prof in 2018. And since obtaining his master’s degree he assigned as an assistant lecturer in University of Duhok and he has been upgraded scientifically till he become prof majoring new and contemporary history. And he is now working in his specialty for the whole KRG universities.  Dr. Ali Tatar started his profession by protecting the security of KRI when he assigned as the director of Duhok National Intelligent and Security Agency from 2002 until 2011. And during that period in 2010 he become a member of the party leadership consul. After that in 2011 he assigned as a head of Branch 10 of PDK in Soran\Erbil governorate till 2017. He was also head of Branch 8 of PDK in Zaxo District\Duhok governorate from 2017 till 2020 when he become the governor od Duhok in 2020.

Former Governor of Duhok

Biography Governors of Duhok


Ali Tatar  2020

Ferhad Ameen Atrushi  \ 2014  2020

Temer Remezan  \ 2005 – 2014

Necirvan Ahmed \ 1999 – 2005

Abdulaziz Teyib \ 1992 – 1999

Abdulwehab Atroshi \ 1991

Muhamed Piro rostem \ 1988 – 1991

Namiq Reqib Sorci \ 1979 – 1988

Yehya Muhamed Reshid Jaf \ 1976 – 1979

Muhamed Ali Ameen Goran \ 1974 – 1976

Suaad Hebib Talebani \ 1974

Hashim hesen Akreyi \ 1970 – 1973

Muhamed resol goyi \ 1970

Ageed Sediq Sedullah Amedi \ 1969 – 1970